My Basement is a Shithole
A Documentary on DIY Shows in Philly

Philly is notorious for having a healthy underground. We’ve met so many talented people who create in this city and we can’t wait for the day that we can take a trip out there to experience it for ourselves! Digging around on youtube, I found this student documentary called My Basement is a Shithole, and although it’s ancient in internet years and not slick or flashy or VICE/Dazed worthy, it documents a priceless time in a vibrant underground movement. CVLT Nation has sponsored and covered shows at some of these DIY Philly venues because most of the time that’s where you’re going to find the sickest bands. Unlike a lot of moms pushing 40, I frequent and support the few DIY venues we have here in Vancouver, and will continue to do so because they’re a necessity to keep true underground expression alive. So all the power to the people who are still opening up basements/warehouses/garages for shows and finding new ways of dodging the pigs!

A documentary that examines the culture of basement shows in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, as well as some of the individuals and bands who participate in the punk scene. A student-made documentary from Temple University for Genres in Media Production in the Broadcasting, Telecommunications, and Mass Media major at the Annenberg School of Media and Communication.

Directed by Evan Lescallette. Produced by Luke Proctor. Edited by Evan Lescallette, Luke Proctor, Ayanda Sithole, and Tina Lam. Filmed by Evan Lescallette, Luke Proctor, Ayanda Sithole, and Tina Lam.

The title “My Basement is a Shithole” was taken from a blog run by Ruben Polo, a great dude in the band Secret Plot to Destroy the Entire Universe. He also runs and promotes shows. Check his stuff out:

Show Promotion page: https://www.facebook.com/WahhManorSho…

Secret Plot Bandcamp: http://secretplottodestroytheentireun…

CONTACT INFO: Evan Lescallette – evan.lescallette@temple.edu

Luke Proctor – tuc44200@temple.edu

Executive Producer, Kristine Trever-Weatherston.

TRACK LIST: “Seabiscuit” – Ted Nguyent http://tednguyent.bandcamp.com/

“Superbowl Birthday Party” – Girl Scouts http://girlscouts.bandcamp.com/

“Disapproval” – Congenital Death http://congenitaldeath.bandcamp.com/

“Burning Styrofoam” – Bleeding Fractals http://bleedingfractals.bandcamp.com/

“Hard Guy” – Little Pirouettes http://littlepirouettes.bandcamp.com/

“Henry David Thoreau” – The Hundred Acre Woods http://thehundredacrewoods.bandcamp.com/

“Casket” – Modern Baseball http://modernbaseballpa.bandcamp.com/

“Puke” – Mumblr http://mumblr.bandcamp.com/

LIVE BANDS, IN ORDER OF APPEARANCE:

Bleeding Fractals at 05:10

Teen Suicide at 07:50

Sovereignties at 09:37

Pill Friends at 11:19

Rasputin’s Secret Police at 12:00

Little Pirouettes at 17:59

Row at 20:16 All other bands featured are mentioned in the credits.

 

Enjoy this post? Donate to CVLT Nation to help keep us going!

 
Previous post

Put yourself in ‘A Strange Situation’ with this new PROFIT PRISON video

Next post

Why Popular Culture is Returning to the Riot Grrrl Aesthetic and Values

The Author

Meghan

Meghan

Meghan MacRae grew up in Vancouver, Canada, but spent many years living in the remote woods. Living in the shadow of grizzly bears, cougars and the other predators of the wilderness taught her about the dark side of nature, and taught her to accept her place in nature's order as their prey. She is co-founder of CVLT Nation webzine and clothing.

Leave a Reply

avatar
  Subscribe  
Notify of